“I am against all forms of monotony and uniformity. I love the unknown, the absurd and the paradoxical. And I also love chaos and order, each at their right time and sometimes even at the same time: in life as on the canvas.”

– Urs Burki

 

Urs Burki (5.12.1945 – 10.02.2017) gained his Doctor of Medicine in 1972. He also created his first pieces of art at around the same time which included sculptures, photographs, paintings and performances. While Urs Burki followed an intensive training in surgery at the Cantonal Hospital of Lucerne, he was a member of the young art scene brushing shoulders with the likes of Urs Lüthi, Luciano Castelli and Jean-Christoph Ammann. During this time, Urs Burki met the Swiss sculptor Mandy Volz, who taught him the craft of sculpture and with whom he occasionally worked together in Pietrasanta (Italy). In Pietrasanta Urs Burki regularly exchanged with artists such as Anish Kapoor, Niki de Saint Phalle, Giò Pomodoro, Bernhard Luginbühl, Rosario Murabito, Isamo Noguchi, Cesar and others. From that point on, however, the artist was known publicly for his outstanding work as a plastic surgeon, primarily making a name for himself around the world through his spectacular open-air operations at the Conservatoire de Musique de Genève, on a Valais glacier, on the terrace of a luxury villa in Cologny (Geneva) and in the shadow of the Dufour peak at a height of 4500 m. These dramaticaly staged sugical events largely eclipsed his remarkable, extremely diverse artistic work. Why? Urs Burki had been deliberately keeping his art (sculptures, paintings, photography, poetry and performances) from the public.

The significant and highly noticed retrospective exhibition at the Bromer Kunst in Roggwil (Switzerland) set across 200 m2 provides an insight into Urs Burki’s complete, rich and wonderfully diverse works for the very first time (News). At the exhibition opening event on 31 March 2017, which was also covered by Swiss broadcasting company Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen (SRF), the artist monograph „The artist Urs Burki, Chaos and Order, Works from 1973 to 2016“ and  the book „Urs Burki M.D., Openair and Inhome Operations“ were also presented to the public for the first time (Books).

Sadly, though he had spent many years working towards his first exhibition and the monograph on his artistic work, Urs Burki was not able to attend the premiere. He passed away on 10 February 2017 following a cardiac arrest.

The website of the Burki Clinic for Aesthetic Surgery provides an insight into Dr Urs Burki’s surgical work  (burkiclinic.com).

« Je suis contre toutes les formes de monotonie et d’uniformité. J’aime l’inconnu, l’absurde et le paradoxal. Et j’aime aussi le chaos et l’ordre, chacun au bon moment et parfois en même temps : dans la vie comme sur la toile. »

– Urs Burki

Urs Burki (5.12.1945 – 10.02.2017) a obtenu son doctorat en médecine en 1972. Il a également créé ses premières œuvres d’art à peu près à la même époque, qui comprenaient des sculptures, des photographies, des peintures et des performances. Alors qu’Urs Burki suivait une formation de plusieurs années en chirurgie à l’Hôpital Cantonal de Lucerne, il faisait partie de la jeune scène artistique avec Urs Lüthi, Luciano Castelli et Jean-Christoph Ammann. Pendant ce temps, Urs Burki a rencontré le sculpteur suisse Mandy Volz, qui lui a enseigné le métier de la sculpture et avec qui il a parfois travaillé dans son atelier à Pietrasanta (Italie). À Pietrasanta, Urs Burki a régulièrement échangé avec des artistes tels que Anish Kapoor, Niki de Saint Phalle, Giò Pomodoro, Bernhard Luginbühl, Rosario Murabito, Isamo Noguchi, César et d’autres. À partir de ce moment, l’artiste était connu publiquement pour son travail remarquable de chirurgien plasticien, se faisant surtout un nom dans le monde entier grâce à ses spectaculaires opérations esthétiques au Conservatoire de Musique de Genève, sur un glacier du Valais, sur la terrasse d’une villa de luxe à Cologny (Genève) et à l’ombre du pic Dufour à 4500m d’altitude. Ces événements dramatiquement mis en scène ont largement éclipsé son travail artistique remarquable et extrêmement diversifié. Pourquoi ? Urs Burki avait délibérément gardé à l’écart du public son art (sculptures, peintures, photographie, poésie et performances).

L’exposition rétrospective importante et très remarquée de la Bromer Kunst à Roggwil (Suisse), d’une superficie de 200m2, donne un aperçu de l’œuvre riche et complexe d’Urs Burki pour la toute première fois (Actualités). Lors de l’inauguration de l’exposition le 31 mars 2017, couverte par la chaine de la Radio et Télévision Suisse (RTS), la monographie d’artiste « L’artiste Urs Burki, Chaos et Ordre, Œuvres de 1973 à 2016 » et le livre « Dr Urs Burki, Opérations Openair et Inhome » ont été également présenté au public pour la première fois (Livres).

Malheureusement, bien qu’il ait passé de nombreuses années à travailler pour sa première exposition et la monographie sur son travail artistique, Urs Burki n’a pas pu assister à la première. Il est décédé le 10 février 2017 à la suite d’un arrêt cardiaque.

Le site de la Clinique Burki de Chirurgie Esthétique donne un aperçu du travail chirurgical du Dr Urs Burki (burkiclinic.com).