“I am against all forms of monotony and uniformity. I love the unknown, the absurd and the paradoxical. And I also love chaos and order, each at their right time and sometimes even at the same time: in life as on the canvas.”

– Urs Burki

 

Urs Burki (5.12.1945 – 10.02.2017) gained his Doctor of Medicine in 1972. He also created his first pieces of art at around the same time which included sculptures, photographs, paintings and performances. While Urs Burki followed an intensive training in surgery at the Cantonal Hospital of Lucerne, he was a member of the young art scene brushing shoulders with the likes of Urs Lüthi, Luciano Castelli and Jean-Christoph Ammann. During this time, Urs Burki met the Swiss sculptor Mandy Volz, who taught him the craft of sculpture and with whom he occasionally worked together in Pietrasanta (Italy). In Pietrasanta Urs Burki regularly exchanged with artists such as Anish Kapoor, Niki de Saint Phalle, Giò Pomodoro, Bernhard Luginbühl, Rosario Murabito, Isamo Noguchi, Cesar and others. From that point on, however, the artist was known publicly for his outstanding work as a plastic surgeon, primarily making a name for himself around the world through his spectacular open-air operations at the Conservatoire de Musique de Genève, on a Valais glacier, on the terrace of a luxury villa in Cologny (Geneva) and in the shadow of the Dufour peak at a height of 4500 m. These dramaticaly staged sugical events largely eclipsed his remarkable, extremely diverse artistic work. Why? Urs Burki had been deliberately keeping his art (sculptures, paintings, photography, poetry and performances) from the public.

The significant and highly noticed retrospective exhibition at the Bromer Kunst in Roggwil (Switzerland) set across 200 m2 provides an insight into Urs Burki’s complete, rich and wonderfully diverse works for the very first time (News). At the exhibition opening event on 31 March 2017, which was also covered by Swiss broadcasting company Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen (SRF), the artist monograph „The artist Urs Burki, Chaos and Order, Works from 1973 to 2016“ and  the book „Urs Burki M.D., Openair and Inhome Operations“ were also presented to the public for the first time (Books).

Sadly, though he had spent many years working towards his first exhibition and the monograph on his artistic work, Urs Burki was not able to attend the premiere. He passed away on 10 February 2017 following a cardiac arrest.

The website of the Burki Clinic for Aesthetic Surgery provides an insight into Dr Urs Burki’s surgical work  (burkiclinic.com).

« Ich bin gegen jegliche Monotonie und Uniformität: Ich liebe das Unbekannte, Absurde und Paradoxe. Und ich liebe das Chaos und die Ordnung — jedes zu seiner Zeit. Aber manchmal auch beides zusammen: im Leben wie auf der Leinwand. »

– Urs Burki

Urs Burki (5.12.1945 – 10.2.2017) promoviert im Jahre 1972 zum Doktor der Medizin. Zur selben Zeit entstehen seine ersten künstlerischen Arbeiten (Skulpturen, Fotografie, Malerei, Performance). Während Urs Burki im Kantonsspital Luzern eine mehrjährige chirurgische Weiterbildung absolviert,  kommt er mit der jungen Kunstszene um Urs Lüthi, Luciano Castelli und Jean-Christoph Ammann in Kontakt mit denen er einen regen Austausch pflegt. Ebenfalls in Luzern trifft Urs Burki den Schweizer Bildhauer Mandy Volz, der ihn in das Handwerk der Bildhauerei einweist und mit dem er fortan in dessen Atelier in Pietrasanta (Italien) zusammenarbeitet. In Pietrasanta lernt Urs Burki bedeutende Künstler kennen wie Anish Kapoor, Niki de Saint Phalle, Giò Pomodoro, Bernhard Luginbühl, Rosario Murabito, Isamo Noguchi, Cesar und andere. Fortan tritt der Künstler jedoch ausschliesslich als plastischer Chirurg an die Öffentlichkeit und macht vor allem mit seinen spektakulären „Openair“-Operationen im Conservatoire de Musique de Genève, auf einem Walliser Gletscher, auf der Terrasse einer Luxusvilla in Cologny (Genf) oder am Fusse der Dufourspitze auf einer Höhe von 4500 m weltweit auf sich aufmerksam. Diese performativen Inszenierungen stellen sein beachtliches und äusserst vielseitiges künstlerisches Schaffen  weitgehend in den Schatten. Der Grund: Urs Burki hatte bis anhin sein künstlerisches Werk (Bildhauerei, Malerei, Fotografie, Lyrik und Performances) bewusst der Öffentlichkeit vorenthalten.

Die bedeutende und viel beachtete retrospektive Ausstellung in der Bromer Kunst in Roggwil (Schweiz)  hat auf über 200m2 erstmals Einblick in das reiche und vielseitige Gesamtwerk des Künstlers Urs Burki geboten (Aktuell). Im Rahmen der Ausstellungseröffnung am 31. März 2017 – vom Schweizer Fernsehen SRF mitverfolgt – wurden zudem die Künstler-Monografie „Der Künstler Urs Burki, Chaos und Ordnung, Werke von 1973 bis 2016“ und das Buch „Dr. Urs Burki, Openair & Inhome-Operationen“ erstmals dem Publikum vorgestellt (Bücher).

Urs Burki, der über mehrere Jahre hinweg intensiv an seiner ersten Ausstellung und der Künstlermonografie zu seinem Werk gearbeitet hat, durfte die Premiere leider nicht mehr miterleben. Er erlag am 10. Februar 2017 den Folgen eines Herzstillstands.

Einblick in die chirurgische Tätigkeit von Dr. Urs Burki bietet die Website der Klinik Burki für Ästhetische Chirurgie (burkiclinic.com).